Alberta Energy Corridor Annual General Meeting Update

On June 27th, 2011 the Alberta Energy Corridor held its second Annual General Meeting in Boyle Alberta Canada.

The Board of Directors adopted two new Community Members at large as well as renewing one former M.A.L position. The Community Members at large for the Alberta Energy Corridor are: Colin Derko of Boyle Alberta, Michael Mallock of Athabasca County and Sharan Khurana of the Town of Athabasca. The AEC annual overview discussed the milestones and accomplishments of the last year for the AEC as the efforts have resulted in 4 different companies actively pursuing development opportunities in the Alberta Energy Corridor Region.

Over 25 guests attending the AGM included local dignitaries,  neighbouring municipalities , Associate Members, Portage College, Provincial and Federal program representation, with some travelling from as far away as Cochrane Alberta to participate in the evening event.

Guest speakers included Stuart Leitch from Portage College, delivering an update on the Heavy Equipment Operator Training Program. The AEC also hosted Doug Griffiths, author of 13 Ways to Kill your Community. His dynamic presentation of “13 Ways” left the audience motivated and inspired, with a message of building community capacity and increasing collaboration.

The Alberta Energy Corridor is looking forward to another productive and rewarding year through 2011, 2012 and would like to thank the continued commitment and support of its Government, Municipal, Industrial and Community members